Road Sprint added to Tobago International Cycle Classic schedule

CROWN, POINT, Tobago: (Mon Sep 25):

The organisers of the 31st Tobago International Cycle Classic (TICC) are pleased to announce that the Fast and Furious Road Sprint event will be added to this year’s schedule. The Road sprint is open to all riders. The qualifying round will be held during Stage Three of the Stage Race at Shelbourne Street, Plymouth on Friday, September 29 from 2:30pm with the finals during Stage Four at Market Square, Wilson Road, Scarborough on Friday, September 30 from 9:00am. Australian Tyler Spurrell won last year’s title ahead of his PSL team-mate Jamaican Marloe Rodman. T&T’s Adam Alexander was the top local finisher taking fourth place.

The 2017 edition of the TICC rides off on Wednesday, September 27 with the opening ceremony (9:00am) and the first leg of the Four Stage race (1:30pm).

Over 200 cyclists from Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Argentina, Colombia, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, United States of America, Canada, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago will compete in five days of cycling in the Four Stage race, Road Sprint, Mountain Bike and the UCI 1.2 Tour of Tobago.

Defending Four Stage winner Dutchman Arno Van Der Zwet of team PSL is already in Tobago and he is seeking to win a second straight crown. Fellow Dutch rider and PSL teammate Nick Stopler was second in 2016 and will aiming to upset his compatriot.  Rodman, the 2015 victor, is also confirmed for this year.  Multiple champion and hometown hero Emile Abraham (Team Pharmaco) will aiming for the top spot. Abraham is back after missing last year’s edition. Two-time Olympian Njisane Phillip and former Caribbean junior champions Tyler Cole and siblings Akil and Teniel Campbell along with Varun Maharaj, all of PSL’s Caribbean team as well at Team Riders (formerly Team Foundation) brothers Adam and Joshua Alexander will also lead the local charge. Barbadian Jamol Eastmond (Team Heatwave) fine-tuned his preparation by winning the Republic Day Classic  in Diego Martin on Sunday. 

Ten teams (PSL, Pharmaco, Raiders, Heatwave, Embrace The World, RC Schwalbe, Econo, PSL-Jet Blue, Veloclub Ratisbona, St. Vincent and the Grenadines) have registered for the Elite (Division One) category.



Day One-Wed Sep 27

8:00am-Final Registration (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

9:00am-Opening Ceremony (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

10:00am-TICC Stage Race Technical Briefing  (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

1:30pm-TICC Stage 1 (Shirvan Road)…..prize giving to follow right after

Day Two-Thu Sep 28

8:00am-TICC Stage 2 (Mt. Irvine Golf Course)…..prize giving to follow right after

1:30pm-Classic Rum Punch Beach Lime & Picnic (Pigeon Point) 

Day Three-Fri Sep 29

7:30am-TICC Mountain Bike Race 1 (Venue to be announced)…prize giving to follow right after

1:30pm-TICC Stage 3 (Shelbourne Street, Plymouth)…..prize giving to follow right after

Day Four-Sat Sep 30

8:30am-TICC Stage 3 (Wilson Road, Scarborough) …..prize giving to follow right after

2:00pm-TICC Mountain Bike Race 2 (Venue to be announced)….prize giving to follow right after

4:00pm-UCI Licenses check for UCI 1.2 Tour of Tobago (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

Day Five-Sun Oct 01

7:30am-UCI 1.2 Tour of Tobago (Milford Esplanade, Scarborough)…….prize giving to follow right after

4:00pm-Grand Finale-Prize Presentation & Farewell Lime (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

The Third (Plymouth Criterium-Friday, September 29) and Fourth (Market Square Criterium-Saturday, September 30)  stages of the Four Stage race will be streamed live on


BIG EVENT… SMALL ISLAND STYLE…  Come & be part of this Tobago Cycling Adventure…. Dates – on September 27th. Through October 1st.  

Special Thanks: –

Gold Sponsors:

National Lotteries Control Board; Tobago House of Assembly; Ministry of Sport

Key Sponsors:

Caribbean Bottlers; BMobile; Econo Car Rentals; British Airways; Crown Point Beach Hotel; Johnston Apartments; Caribbean Airlines; Kiss Baking; Holiday Snacks; Agostini Insurance; El Pecos

Tobago Support Services:

Tobago Emergency Management Agency (TEMA); Tobago Regional Health Authority (TRHA); Tobago REACT; Tobago Police Service; THA Division of Infrastructure: Tobago Information Technology Ltd – 211: Tobago Red Cross; Michael Baker: Desron Clarke; Radio Tambrin 


Clayton Clarke

Sportscore Tobago

Media Liaison-2017 Tobago International Cycling Classic (Wed Sep 27-Sun Oct 01) 


Skype: tobtrackmed