Competitive line up for 2017 Tobago International Cycling Classic

CROWN POINT, Tobago: (Thu Sep 21): Ten teams have registered so far for the Division One (Elite) category for this year’s 31st edition of the Tobago International Cycling Classic (TICC) which rides off at on Wednesday, September 27. Defending team champs PSL along Pharmaco, Heatwave, Jet Blue, Raiders, Veloclub Ratisbona, Econo, RC Schwalden, Embrace The World and St. Vincent and the Grenadines are the squads confirmed to compete.  PSL will be aiming to retain their title with the first and second place finishers in last year’s  Stage Race as well as  the 2015 winner. Van Der Zwet of Netherlands took the 2016 Four stage competition ahead of fellow-Dutch rider Nick Stopler.  The victor two years ago Jamaican Marloe Rodman is also in the PSL line up. PSL will all have on board three more Dutch competitors Twan Brussellman, Peter Schulting and Martin Kelderman as well American Trevor Connor and Canadian Alex Bhugal.  Pharmaco will be spearheaded by former multiple champion and Tobago-born veteran Emile Abraham who is the lone local rider in the seven member line up. He is joined by Americans Ben Kema, Winston David, Parker Kyser and Corey Davis. Guyana’s Raymauth Jeffrey is the seventh rider. Abraham, the 2007 Pan American Games Road Race silver medallist, will be riding in the event for the first time since 2015 when he announced his retirement from national team duties. The Atlanta, USA based rider has been enjoying much success in the Masters Category in the US.  Top ace rider Njisane Phillip is the leading name on Jet Blue. The two Olympian will be joined by fellow locals Lorenzo Orosco, Varun Maharah and stand-out junior Tyler Cole. Antigua and Barbudan Jyme Bridges and Romello Crawford of Guyana will also wear the colours of Jet Blue. Raiders will rely on the  2015 (Adderly Cruz Colon of the Dominican Republic) and 2013 (Dennis Ramirez-Colombia) Tour winners . Alexander brothers Joshua and Adams are lone local riders in the eight member team. Veloclub Ratisbona and RC Schwalben will feature all-German teams while Embrace the World will feature four Germans and one Swiss rider. Argentine Jose Luis Rivera, Colombian Jhoan Sabatian Caicedo, Andres Camilo Pedroza and Christian Torres, American Arian Kaini and Ben Foster and Denmark’s Amid Pederson will ride for Econo. St. Vincent and Grenadines outfit will include three Vincentians and one St. Lucian.

Chairman of the TICC Jeffrey Charles is describing this year’s field competitive given the quality of riders on the team. “This the first time in a while that all the teams have at least one top rider who can win the (UCI 1.2) Tour (of Tobago). This one of most competitive in many years.

Abraham arrived in Trinidad on Thursday and Van Der Zwet is expected on Friday afternoon. Rodman is due in Tobago on Tuesday.

The 31st annual Tobago International Cycling Classic will begin on Wednesday, September 27, with the First Leg of the Four Stage race set for Shirvan Road from 1:30pm.

TEAMS registered so far

Embrace The World

Micha Glowatzki (GER), Lucas Carstenen (GER), Christian Schumacher (GER), Denis Bojarkin (GER), Lauritz Urnauer (GER), Matthias Plattner (SUI)

RC Schwalben

Gero Hornberger (GER), Philipp Panni (GER), Paul Schuler (GER), Ken Tiltmann (GER)

Team Econo

Jose Luis Rivera (ARG), Jhoan Sabastian Caicedo (COL), Andres Camilo Pedroza (COL), Christian Torres (COL), Nicklas Amdi Pederson (DEN), Aria Kiani (USA), Ben Foster (USA)

Team Heatwave

Guy Costa (TTO), Enrique De Comarmond (TTO), Edwin Sutherland (BAR), Jamol Eastmond (BAR), Jesse Kelly (BAR), Gregory Vanderpool (BAR), Michael Anthony (GUY)

Team Jet Blue

Njisane Phillips (TTO), Lorenzo Orosco (TTO), Varum Maharajh (TTO), Jovian Gomez (TTO), Akil Campbell (TTO), Tyler Cole (TTO), Jyme Bridges (ANT), Romello Crawford (GUY)

 Team Pharmaco

Emile Abraham (TTO), Ben Ren Kema (USA), Winston David (USA), Parker Kyser (USA), Jack Silverburg (USA), Corey Davis (USA), Raymauth Jeffrey (GUY)

Team Raiders

Adam Alexander (TTO), Joshua Alexander (TTO), Stalin Quieterio (Dom Rep), Rafael Meran (Dom Rep), Adderly Cruz (Dom Rep), Stalin Quiterio (Dom Rep), Dennis Ramirez (COL, Maximo Rojas (VEN), Marlies Mejias (CUB)

Team PSL

Arno Van Der Zwet (NED), Marloe Rodman (JAM), Nick Stöpler (NED), Twan Brusselman (NED), Peter Schulting (NED), Martin Kelderman (NED), Trevor Connor (USA), Alex Bhogal (CAN)

Team St. Vincent & the Grenadines

Trevor Zefal Bailey (SVG), Enroy Lewis (SVG), Samuel Lyttle (SVG), Andrew Norbert (LCA)

Team Veloclub Ratisbona

Marcel Weber (GER), Stephen Brandlmeier (GER), Christoph Setescak (GER), Johannes Glameyer (GER), Josef Schafbauer (GER), Jürgen Dietsche (GER), Robert Müller (GER)



Day One-Wed Sep 27

8:00am-Final Registration (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

9:00am-Opening Ceremony (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

10:00am-TICC Stage Race Technical Briefing  (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

1:30pm-TICC Stage 1 (Shirvan Road)…..prize giving to follow right after

Day Two-Thu Sep 28

8:00am-TICC Stage 2 (Mt. Irvine Golf Course)…..prize giving to follow right after

1:30pm-Classic Rum Punch Beach Lime & Picnic (Pigeon Point) 

Day Three-Fri Sep 29

7:30am-TICC Mountain Bike Race 1 (Venue to be announced)…prize giving to follow right after

1:30pm-TICC Stage 3 (Shelbourne Street, Plymouth)…..prize giving to follow right after

Day Four-Sat Sep 30

8:30am-TICC Stage 3 (Wilson Road, Scarborough) …..prize giving to follow right after

2:00pm-TICC Mountain Bike Race 2 (Venue to be announced)….prize giving to follow right after

4:00pm-UCI Licenses check for UCI 1.2 Tour of Tobago (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

Day Five-Sun Oct 01

7:30am-UCI 1.2 Tour of Tobago (Milford Esplanade, Scarborough)…….prize giving to follow right after

4:00pm-Grand Finale-Prize Presentation & Farewell Lime (Johnstons Apartments, Crown Point)

The Third (Plymouth Criterium-Friday, September 29) and Fourth (Market Square Criterium-Saturday, September 30)  stages of the Four Stage race will be streamed live on

BIG EVENT… SMALL ISLAND STYLE…  Come & be part of this Tobago Cycling Adventure…. Dates – on September 27th. Through October 1st.  

Special Thanks: –

Gold Sponsors:

National Lotteries Control Board; Tobago House of Assembly; Ministry of Sport

Key Sponsors:

Caribbean Bottlers; BMobile; Econo Car Rentals; British Airways; Crown Point Beach Hotel; Johnston Apartments; Caribbean Airlines; Kiss Baking; Holiday Snacks; Agostini Insurance; El Pecos

Tobago Support Services:

Tobago Emergency Management Agency (TEMA); Tobago Regional Health Authority (TRHA); Tobago REACT; Tobago Police Service; THA Division of Infrastructure: Tobago Information Technology Ltd – 211: Tobago Red Cross; Michael Baker: Desron Clarke; Radio Tambrin 


Clayton Clarke

Sportscore Tobago

Media Liaison-2017 Tobago International Cycling Classic (Wed Sep 27-Sun Oct 01) 


Skype: tobtrackmed